Five post-hangover foods under $5 dollars

Well, I’m not sure that prior to kick-off yesterday, any of us would have been barracking for a team from Melbourne, but I’m certain we all celebrated their win well in to the early hours of this morning.

And as we come down from the Storm’s jubilation (or the Doggies disappointment, if you’re so inclined) we slowly realise that we do, indeed, have a little thing called uni tomorrow. And if you’re anything like me, the next three weeks are pretty assessment heavy. SO, in order to get your brain cells buzzing and your essays written, here are five top hang-over killers, on a uni student’s budget.

1. Bananas – $3.68 per kilo at Woolies *

Other than being particularly easy to grab on the run, these babies are packed with Potassium, which is one nutrient that’s particularly in need of replenishing after a big one. True story: after finding this out, I was feeling exceptionally drunk at one of my favourite nightspots and spotted a banana in the cocktail fridge behind the bar. I asked the girl behind the bar if I could purchase it (at least I think I did, it might not have come out properly) to which she replied, “Ummm, you can just have it.” What a nice lady!

2. Eggs – $4.49 free range carton at Woolies *

This is a new one for me but apparently eggs have a magical ingredient called Cysteine in them, which is a substance that “breaks down the hangover-causing toxin acetaldehyde in the liver’s easily depleted glutathione”, according to How.Stuff.Works.com. If the thought of the greasy fried or buttery scrambled type makes you feel even worse, try poaching them on dry toast. The carbs in the toast will also help boost your energy.

3. Gatorade – $2 at Woolies *

This may be the oldest trick in the book, but I just wanted to make sure everyone knew about it. Gatorade is full of these things called Electrolytes (a term everyone tosses around but know one knows what it is). Basically the Electrolytes are the salt in your body, which are depleted when your body becomes too hydrated from alcohol. Although there has been research into the full effectiveness of sports drinks against fighting hangovers, I always feel that the high sugar and salt content gives me a boost after a big night. However, just be careful to check the caffeine content in your drink of choice, as this has the potential to further dehydrate you.

4. Ginger – in a juice, potentially a little over $5 but we’ll accept it

Kristin Kirkpatrick writes in the HuffPost about the soothing effect of Ginger to an upset tummy. Although I’m not suggesting that the thought of munching on this root is going to be soothing to anyone, if you can pop down to a juice bar and slip this magic ingredient into your blend, you may find your urge to run to the nearest loo subside.

5. BlueBerries – $4.20 a punnet at Woolies *

I may be a little biased here but I think berries are just a fab way to tackle the morning-after blues. Although, I admit, they’re not cheap (see above), berries contain the sugar found in all fruits, Fructose. Although, as Kristin Kirkpatrick says here, there’s no hard evidence that Fructose helps clear the toxins from your body, it does deliver that kick of energy which is so desparately needed to get yourself out of bed and skipping to uni/work/whatever life may hold for you. They’re also classified as a Superfood so we’re being extra healthy and amazing for ourselves here.

In my old age (I turn 21 in November arghhh!) I’ve been experiencing this type of hangover less and less. So I throw it to you, Spring Chickens, what are the best hangover cures on a budget?

*I don’t endorse or shop at Woolies. I only use their pricing as a guide here.

NB: Please don’t take any of the above as medical advise, it is not intended as so. All information is sourced from external resources and I have no medical or nutritional training.

8 responses to “Five post-hangover foods under $5 dollars

  1. These are some great tips and all at a pretty reasonable price if your ask me! I too enjoy blueberries and strawberries when I am dealing with this issue. I feel fruits are a source of refreshment and tend to just make your body feel fresher. I do sometimes question whether there really is a remedy to a hangover though or whether it is all just myth. Maybe it is an attitude thing where we think these things help us but they really don’t. Anyways, my suggestion is WATER. So simple, but really it is the best cure! Water replenishes your dehydrated body and leaves you feeling fresh! Great blog post though some great tips which I will be sure to tell my friends about!

    – justin

  2. Hey!
    Yes bananas are the BEST! I remember being at this party and this guy was eating bananas in between drinks LOL. But you can’t go wrong with bananas. I dont know about ginger ahhaha that’s so random but yeah. I think my favourite post hang-over food is Maccas. Cheap, convenient, fast and yummy

  3. Healthy body= healthy mind, which is often very difficult to achieve on a hangover!! Great post- personally my fave hangover cure is soda water closely followed by a bacon and egg roll with lots of avo!

  4. Despite experiencing cravings for something salty, greasy, and diet-derailing when hung-over, my better instincts usually lead me to make a smoothie. Your blueberries suggestion spot on, and I also like to throw in some strawberries, bananas, natural yoghurt and almond milk! It just helps me to feel a bit fresher/in control of my life, whereas i’d be like to regret chowing down on a post-hangover Big Mac. I agree with Justin’s simple suggestion of water, and a healthy dose of caffeine usually doesn’t go astray either! Interesting blog post by the way, and definitely very timely after the long weekend!

    Emma

  5. I tend to get a really bad case of the munchies whenever I have a few drinks so I always try to stay hydrated as possible- I am a frequent gatorade/powerade/hydralyte user and will drink litres of water. It is always tempting and normally the only option when out to eat fast food, with McDonalds normally being the option. However, the next day I will try to eat a big breakfast in order to get my body recovering and keep it as nutritious as possible ! (Fruit, greek yoghurt, museli)

  6. Pingback: 5 different foods for 5 different moods | livelikeaunistudenteatlikeaking·

Leave a comment